Thomas Zehetmair

Thomas Zehetmair

Violon

Violoniste, chef d’orchestre et musicien chambriste renommé sur la scène internationale, Thomas Zehetmair est dès cette saison chef principal de l’Orchestre national d’Auvergne et en parallèle, depuis la saison 2019/2020, chef principal du Kammerorchester Stuttgart. De 2016 à 2021, il était chef principal du Musikollegium Winterthur avec lequel il relève le défi d’enregistrer les quatre symphonies de Brahms (Claves) et la troisième de Bruckner (Deutsche Grammophon). Par ailleurs, il dirige l’Orchestre symphonique de la Radio finlandaise à Helsinki, le Konzerthausorchester Berlin, le Mozarteum-Orchester Salzburg, l’Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, le Scottish Chamber Orchestra, l’Irish Chamber Orchestra le Svetlanov Symphony Orchestra, le Helsinki Philharmonic, le Séoul Philharmonic, le Rotterdam Philharmonic, le Seattle Symphony Orchestra et le St. Paul’s Chamber Orchestra. Nommé directeur musical du Royal Northern Sinfonia en Angleterre en 2002, il en a fait une des formations les plus renommées d’Angleterre jusqu’à la fin de son mandat en 2014, comme en témoignent plusieurs CDs, et lui est encore attaché en tant que Conducteur Laureate. Il a conduit aussi l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris de 2012 à 2015 et est partenaire artistique, depuis 2010, du Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra aux États-Unis.

En tant que violoniste, Zehetmair a enregistré la majeure partie du répertoire. Nombre de ces CDs ont reçu des distinctions prestigieuses, tels le concerto pour violon de Bernd Aloys Zimmermann avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la Radio WDR sous la baguette de Heinz Holliger (Diapason d’Or de l’année 2009), les 24 Caprices de Paganini (Prix de la critique allemande du disque 2009 et Midem Classic Award 2010), le concerto pour violon d’Elgar avec le Hallé Orchestra Manchester sous Sir Mark Elder (Gramophone Award 2010) ou les concertos pour violon de Mozart avec l’Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century sous Frans Brüggen, ce dernier étant considéré comme « enregistrement de référence ». Il en va de même pour son enregistrement des Six Sonates et Partitas pour violon solo de Bach (EMC 2019) : le New York Times le compte parmi “The 25 Best Classical Music Tracks of 2019”, l’hébdomadaire allemand Die Zeit l’inclut dans ses CDs favorites de l’année 2019 et le prestigieux prix allemand Opus Klassik 2020 lui a été décerné dans la catégorie du meilleur enregistrement solo.

Zehetmair se produit comme soliste dans les salles européennes les plus connues parmi lesquelles le Royal Festival Hall de Londres, le Konzerthaus de Vienne, les Philharmonies de Munich et de Cologne, et est invité aux plus prestigieux festivals tels les Salzburger Festspiele.

En 1994, il a fondé le quatuor portant son nom, considéré comme un des plus illustres quatuor à cordes au niveau mondial. Les enregistrements notamment des quatuors de Schumann, Bartók, Hartmann sont acclamés par la critique et le public averti.

Thomas Zehetmair est titulaire d’un doctorat honoris causa de l’Académie de musique Franz-Liszt de Weimar et de l’Université de Newcastle.

   

Concerts Passés

Event Name Start Date
LUXMOZART 22 septembre 2021
LUXMOZART 18 septembre 2021

Thomas Zehetmair

Thomas Zehetmair

Violin

Thomas Zehetmair’s ability to skillfully blend his musical interests is unparalleled. He enjoys widespread international acclaim not only as a violinist, but also a conductor and chamber musician, making him one of the most prominent artistic personalities of today. Since the 2019/20 season he is Chief Conductor of the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester as well as from now on of the Orchestre national d’Auvergne.  Chief conductor from 2016 to 2021 of the Musikkollegium Winterthur, he took up the challenge to record  all four Brahms symphonies (Claves) and third Bruckner symphonie (Deutsche Grammophon).  Zehetmair is also invited to conduct Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Mozarteum-Orchester Salzburg, Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Irish Chamber Orchestra ,Svetlanov Symphony Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic, Séoul Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic and Seattle Symphony Orchestra. He was Chief Conductor of Orchestre de Chambre de Paris between 2012 and 2015, and Artistic Partner of St. Paul’s Chamber Orchestra. Taking the helm of the Royal Northern Sinfonia as Principle Conductor in 2002, he sculpted it into one of England’s leading orchestras during his term ending in 2014 and continues to stay connected to the orchestra as Conductor Laureate. A number of recordings document his exceedingly prolific work with the orchestra.

Thomas Zehetmair has recorded the largest works of repertoire for the violin; many of his releases have earned multiple awards. These recordings include, among others, B. A. Zimmermann’s violin concerto with the WDR Sinfonieorchester under Heinz Holliger (“Diapason d’Or de l’Année“ 2009), 24 Paganini Caprices (Best List of the “Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik“ 2009, Midem Classic Award 2010), a recording of Elgar’s violin concerto with the Hallé Orchestra Manchester under Sir Mark Elder (Gramophone Award 2010) and Mozart’s violin concertos with the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century under Frans Brüggen, acclaimed as a reference recording. In addition, the recording “Manto and Madrigals” with his duo-partner Ruth Killius appeared in 2011 at ECM, where contemporary works for violin and viola can be heard.His latest CD release is Bach Six Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin, selected by the New York Times as one of “The 25 Best Classical Music Tracks of 2019”, named by Die Zeit as one of their favourite recordings of 2019 and winner of the Opus Klassik 2020 for the best solo recording.

Thomas Zehetmair is the founding member of the Zehetmair Quartett, with which he was awarded the Paul Hindemith Prize by the City of Hanau in November 2014 in recognition of outstanding musical achievement. The Zehetmair Quartett’s recordings of  the Schumann, Bartók and Hartmann quartets are acclaimed by critics and public.  For his far-reaching artistic contributions, Thomas Zehetmair was awarded, among others, the certificate of honour by the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik as well as the Karl Böhm Interpretation Prize by the federated state of Styria.

Thomas Zehetmair is an honorary doctor at the University of Music Franz Liszt in Weimar and Newcastle University.

Upcoming Concerts

Event Name Start Date
LUXMOZART 22 September 2021
LUXMOZART 18 September 2021